joomla templates

Thursday, 08 Dec 2022

June 19 2009: User Meeting in Beirut, Lebanon

E-mail Print

User Meeting organized by CaSToRC on June 19th in Beirut, Lebanon
Sponsors: the European Commission (DG-INFSO) and the Cyprus Institute
Location: American Univeristy Beirut 
Local Organizers: Prof. Nabil Nassif, Prof. Marwan Darwish

This Users Meeting was co-organized by the Computation-based Science and Technology Research Center (CaSToRC) of the Cyprus Institute (CyI) and The Computational Sciences Group of the American University of Beirut. The meeting was aimed at current or potential HPC users within the Lebanese scientific community and was part of the networking process conducted within the LinkSCEEM project. The objectives of this process are:

  1. To provide a forum where users and providers of high-performance computing (HPC) facilities in the Eastern Mediterranean can meet and exchange views and information
  2. To explore the available HPC infrastructures in the region, and the ways they currently serve their user communities.
  3. To provide an opportunity for computational scientists from the region (both users and providers) to learn from the experiences of leaders of HPC centers in Western Europe and the US.
  4. To lay the foundations of a user community around the planned HPC facility of the Cyprus Institute's Computation-based Research and Technology Research Center (CaSToRC)

The meeting included presentations from representatives of CaSToRC, LinkSCEEM and local scientific institutions. Current and potential HPC users presented their work and projects, and the related computational needs. The meeting concluded with a round-table discussion that focused on the required computational resources and connectivity.

A website containing complete details of the event can be found here.

  1. Meeting program
  2. Meeting report
  3. Presentations:
    1. Klaus Schilling
    2. Christos Nicolaou
    3. Marwan Darwish
    4. Ayman Mourad
    5. Bernard Philippe
    6. Dominique Sotteau
    7. Ghassan Antar
    8. George Turkiyyah
    9. Fadl Moukalled
    10. Faisal Abukhzam
    11. Khaldoun El-Khaldi
    12. Jessy Haykal
  4. Panel discussion detailed minutes